Tinubu Snubs Vice President Osinbajo At Ruling APC Presidential Convention

The National leader of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, on Wednesday snubbed Vice President Yemi Osinbajo at the ongoing national convention of the party at the Eagles Square, Abuja.

In a video posted by Arise TV, Tinubu refused to greet Osinbajo while he exchanged pleasantries with President Muhammadu Buhari and his wife, Aisha; Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi and others at the VVIP box.

He ignored the Vice President despite standing up to greet him.

It however took the intervention of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, for Tinubu to go back and shake hands with Osinbajo.

Since 1999, the duo have enjoyed a cordial political relationship.

Considering that Osinbajo served during the Tinubu administration when the latter was governor of Lagos, many believed he shouldn’t have indicated interest in contesting the presidency with his former boss.

Tinubu recently claimed he nominated Osinbajo as President Muhammadu Buhari’s running mate in 2015 as part of the political bargaining that led to the formation of APC.

Tinubu won the election, polling 1271 votes to beat his major opponents, former minister and former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi who polled 316 while Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, had 235 votes.

Senate President, Ahmed Lawani polled 152 votes and Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello polled 47 votes.

Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State polled 38 votes while his Cross River counterpart, Ben Ayade polled 37 votes.

Nigeria’s former Education Minister, Emeka Nwajuba had only 1 vote; same with aspirants Rufia Sani and Christopher Onu who both polled one vote each. 

The Serving Overseer of the Citadel Global Community Church and presidential aspirant of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Pastor Tunde Bakare, didn’t score any vote, same with aspirant Tien Jack Rich.

Also, former Minister of Information, Ikeobasi Mokwelu scored no votes. Former Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha also got no votes.

Source link